BMW 2002 Car is not starting Inspection at your home or office.

Our certified mobile mechanics come to you 7 days a week between 7 AM and 9 PM.

Estimate price near me

Service Location

Customer Ratings

(5)

How A Diagnostic Works

Instantly book a certified mobile mechanic to come to you

Mechanic diagnoses the problem and quotes necessary repairs

Your vehicle is ready to go

Fair, upfront & transparent pricing for all services

Our certified mobile mechanics can come to you now.

Customer Ratings

(5)

Car is not starting Inspection Service

How much does a Car is not starting Inspection cost?

On average, the cost for a BMW 2002 Car is not starting Inspection is $95 with $0 for parts and $95 for labor. Prices may vary depending on your location.

CarServiceEstimateShop/Dealer Price
1966 BMW 2002L4-2.0LService typeCar is not starting InspectionEstimate$114.99Shop/Dealer Price$132.49 - $145.62
1972 BMW 2002L4-2.0LService typeCar is not starting InspectionEstimate$94.99Shop/Dealer Price$112.52 - $125.67
1973 BMW 2002L4-2.0L TurboService typeCar is not starting InspectionEstimate$94.99Shop/Dealer Price$112.52 - $125.67
1969 BMW 2002L4-2.0LService typeCar is not starting InspectionEstimate$94.99Shop/Dealer Price$112.48 - $125.60
1975 BMW 2002L4-2.0LService typeCar is not starting InspectionEstimate$94.99Shop/Dealer Price$112.55 - $125.72
1974 BMW 2002L4-2.0L TurboService typeCar is not starting InspectionEstimate$94.99Shop/Dealer Price$112.52 - $125.67
1967 BMW 2002L4-2.0LService typeCar is not starting InspectionEstimate$99.99Shop/Dealer Price$117.28 - $130.25
1973 BMW 2002L4-2.0LService typeCar is not starting InspectionEstimate$99.99Shop/Dealer Price$117.94 - $131.39
Show example BMW 2002 Car is not starting Inspection prices

A car that fails to start is a rare occurrence in this age of greatly improved efficiency and reliability. But it still happens occasionally, and the advanced electronic technologies that have made cars better have also made the job of roadside diagnosis difficult, if not impossible, for even reasonably handy owners. One of our expert mobile mechanics can provide an expeditious diagnosis and provide a quote for any necessary repairs.

Common reasons for this to happen:

If the engine cranks, but the car doesn't start:

  • Bad fuel pump: A faulty fuel pump won't deliver fuel to the engine, even if you've just filled up.

  • Bad spark plugs: Without hot sparks to ignite the fuel charge in each cylinder, there is no combustion and no expansion of the burning mixture. Thus, the engine will not start.

  • Bad timing belt: If the timing belt stretches or breaks, the engine will not run. Moreover, continuing to crank the engine may bring the valves into contact with the piston, causing serious engine damage.

  • Bad ignition coil: Without a functional coil to step up the voltage, there can be no spark. No spark means no start.

  • Faulty cam or crank sensor: If the sensors are faulty they will either provide no information to the ignition system, or will provide incorrect data. Either way, the engine will not fire.

If nothing happens after you turn the key:

  • Bad battery or terminals: Batteries have a finite lifespan, and terminals can loosen or corrode.

  • Bad starter: This should be obvious from the response to the key. If nothing happens at all when you turn the key, the starter may have reached the end of its life.

  • Ignition problem: This could be due to faulty contacts in the ignition switch, or in the wiring.

If there is a grinding noise when you turn the key:

  • Starter is bad: Do not persist in cranking the engine.

What to expect:

A top-rated mobile mechanic will come to your home or office to determine the cause of your car’s failure to start through a series of diagnostic procedures. You will receive an upfront, fair and transparent estimate for the necessary repairs. The mechanic will book a follow-up appointment to perform the repairs and will bring the required parts and tools. All repairs are covered by our warranty.

How it's done:

The mechanic will check the ignition system, fuel system, and charging system, and then look for any mechanical damage. The mechanic may also try an alternative fuel source, like a quick shot of brake or carburetor cleaner into the throttle body, or a quick shot of liquid fuel via a vacuum line. If the car starts momentarily and then dies, that indicates that you have a fuel delivery issue.

How important is this service?

It goes without saying that a non-starting car is an important issue to address. Do not ignore or abandon the car if it’s not starting; this is an issue that should be dealt with promptly. Book a mechanic to perform a thorough diagnostic as soon as possible.

Fast and easy service at your home or office

Backed by 12-month, 12.000-mile guarantee


Meet some of our expert BMW mechanics

Real customer reviews from BMW owners like you.

Excellent Rating

(5)

Rating Summary
5
0
0
0
0
5
0
0
0
0

Arturo

27 years of experience
303 reviews
Arturo
27 years of experience
BMW 2002 L4-2.0L - Car is not starting - San Diego, California
Great job, am up and running, thanks to Arturo.

Grzegorz

41 years of experience
473 reviews
Grzegorz
41 years of experience
BMW 2002 L4-2.0L - Car is not starting - San Francisco, California
Grzegorz was quick at pin pointing the problem with my car and fixing it. He was also helpful in letting me know what caused the problem and what to look out for if my problem should occur again. Overall he was very helpful.

Tien

23 years of experience
903 reviews
Tien
23 years of experience
BMW 2002 L4-2.0L - Car is not starting - Oakland, California
Friendly, helpful and punctual. Diagnosed the problem very quickly. thanks Tien!

Chi

25 years of experience
6 reviews
Chi
25 years of experience
BMW 2002 L4-2.0L - Battery - Oakland, California
Chi finally got my car up and running, and I'm super happy. I'd wait a week, to work with Chi vs another mechanic. He's that good. Friendly, knowledgeable, and genuinely wants to help and get you back on the road. 6 stars.

Excellent Rating

(5)

Rating Summary
5
0
0
0
0
5
0
0
0
0
Number of BMW 2002 services completed
55+
services done by our mechanics
TOTAL NUMBER OF EXPERT BMW MECHANICS
1100+
experts on our platform

Recent articles & questions

How to Find a Cosigner for a Car Loan
If If you are just starting your career or if your credit scores have fallen below an acceptable point, getting loans for large items like a car or a house can seem nearly impossible. Companies do not want to sell...
How to Remove the Wheels from Your Vehicle
Your Your tires are an essential part of your vehicle. They are there for safety, comfort, and performance. The tires are mounted (https://www.yourmechanic.com/article/how-tires-work) to the wheels, which in turn are mounted to the vehicle. Some vehicles have directional or positional...
How to Replace a Clutch Switch
A clutch switch failure means that your vehicle will not be able to start. The contacts within the switch or the wiring may be corroded.

Overheating, white smoke from under the hood, leaking coolant, heater blowing cold air 2007 Saturn Relay

Hi there - from your symptoms, a failed water pump (https://www.yourmechanic.com/question/my-water-pump-leaks-and-shoots-out-water-by-sasha-p), or ruptured coolant hose is the likely cause of the failure you experienced. I recommend a cooling system inspection (https://www.yourmechanic.com/services/coolant-is-leaking-inspection) performed by a mobile, professional mechanic, such as one...

Whistling noise

It sounds like you may have an emergency brake that may be sticking resulting in the squeaking sound you describe. Emergency brakes tend to not get used as often as other components in the vehicle do and as a result,...

Have a 1994 f150 2 door. Power steering whine for about 2 years. Finally decided to go to Autozone and get a new pump. Put it on a

I've been down that road a few times with other types of cars. You have taken the correct first steps, and I presume you are using the correct factory recommended fluid. If your truck has a pressure relief valve that...

How can we help?

Our service team is available 7 days a week, Monday - Friday from 6 AM to 5 PM PST, Saturday - Sunday 7 AM - 4 PM PST.

1 (855) 347-2779 · hi@yourmechanic.com