Q: When can my child ride in the front?

asked by on

When can my child ride in the front?

This one has nothing to do with automaker designs, and everything to do with your state’s specific regulations. You’ll need to check with your Department of Motor Vehicles or the Department of Consumer Affairs to learn exactly what laws and regulations your state has in regards to age, height and weight for children to sit in the front.

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) recommends that children younger than 12 years of age remain in the back seat regardless of weight or height considerations.

Was this answer helpful?

Need advice from certified mechanic? Get help now!

Over 1,000 mechanics are ready to answer your question.
The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details

Ask a Mechanic
(100% Free)

Have a car question? Get free advice from our top-rated mechanics.

Ask A Mechanic
Over 10,000 questions answered!
  1. Home
  2. Questions
  3. When can my child ride in the front?

Get an instant quote for your car

Our certified mechanics come to you ・Backed by 12-month, 12,000-mile guarantee・Fair and transparent pricing

Get a quote

What others are asking

Q: Are Power Car Windows Safer?

Power windows are a convenience feature, though there are elements of passenger safety that are incorporated. Power windows can be controlled by the driver, so if a passenger opens the car window when they shouldn’t, the driver can close it....

Q: I drive an audi A4. Can I manually change the readings on my trip odometer? Please note, Im not asking about the primary odo...jus

Hi there. To my knowledge, you are able to clear the trip odometer anytime you want, but you can't calibrate the system to change to accomplish what I think you're looking for. You might be better served to purchase a...

Q: Clutch pedal down Reservoir full recently replaced master

If the fluid is full but the system will not build up pressure then you may need to replace the master cylinder and flush all the dirty old muddy fluid out of the system. The dirty fluid has caused the...

Related articles

P0240 OBD-II Trouble Code: Turbocharger Boost Sensor B Circuit Range/Performance
P0240 code definition Turbocharger Boost Sensor B Circuit Range/Performance What the P0240 code means P0240 is an OBD-II generic code triggered when the Engine Control Module (ECM) detects the intake boost...
Rules of the Road For Iowa Drivers
Driving on the roads requires knowledge of the rules, many of which are based on common sense and courtesy. However, even though you know the rules in...
How Much Does a Mechanic Make in Vermont?
Automotive technician jobs in Vermont have an average mechanic salary of $37k, with some mechanics earning a salary of $53k.